Skip to content

Kiersey Clemons Talks ‘FLASHPOINT’ and ‘JUSTICE LEAGUE’

August 4, 2017

Kiersey Clemons

Following the announcement during this year’s San Diego Comic-Con, Warner Bros. Pictures confirmed that DC Entertainment’s highly anticipated solo film of The Flash will be called FLASHPOINT. And while the title has been confirmed, it has been tricky trying to get a new filmmaker after multiples have been attached but have departed due to “creative differences.” Now, star Kiersey Clemons, who’s promoting her new film The Only Living Boy in New York spoke to ComingSoon about her role as Iris West both in The Flash solo film and this November’s JUSTICE LEAGUE.

One of the questions was whether she has been involved in any of the reshoots and some of the other costars have been, and on her part, no.

“Everyone’s asking me that. No, I finished all my stuff with Zack [Snyder], I wish him well and I have no idea what’s going on right now, but I’m sure whatever they’re doing is necessary. I know the parts that I did introducing Iris are f*cking sick. I can’t wait to see the movie. I’m so happy that I’ve been introduced to this genre because I didn’t really have any type of desire to be a part of any superhero world. And then I stepped on the set of JUSTICE LEAGUE and I was like, ‘Holy sh&t. All right!'”

After the departure of her Dope director Rick Famuyiwa, how does she balance the logistic of her schedule with the solo film and booking other films or TV shows?

“I am just taking it project by project. I have so many projects in the works that I’m not necessarily gonna be on camera for, but I’m producing and writing. I’m kind of filling this space by working on that stuff, so when it comes around for FLASH I can get our movie done and then I can produce my own stuff. THE FLASH is gonna be taking up a lot of my time throughout the year acting, so I want to make sure I’m preparing to do the other things I wanna do when it comes to creating and casting! The f*ckin’ actors I wanna see. I wanna see some sexy black men in a movie, you know what I’m sayin’? Those are the movies I’m gonna make.”

Flashpoint is getting a page-one rewrite from King Arthur: Legend of the Sword writer Joby Harold, with several directors eyeing the project, including frontrunner Robert Zemeckis (Back to the Future trilogy, Contact).

Famuyiwa was the second director to exit the project, following Seth Grahame-Smith earlier this year. While it’s unknown who will be the director, the film will be lead by Ezra Miller and joined alongside Clemons as Iris West and Billy Crudup as Barry Allen’s (Miller) father, Henry.

Following his debut in Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice and a cameo in Suicide Squad, Miller returns as The Flash in Justice League, in theaters on November 17.

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

