Skip to content

Woody Harrelson Talks ‘HAN SOLO’

July 15, 2017

Han Solo cast header

Following the departure of directors Phil Lord and Christopher Miller for Lucasfilm’s highly anticipated spinoff, the still untitled HAN SOLO film due to “creative differences”, it was shortly announced that Ron Howard would replace them. However, there was only three weeks left of principal photography with reshoots later to happen this summer.

Recently, Woody Harrelson spoke to THR where he opened up about his personal life, career and the upcoming spinoff. He has nothing but positive things to say.

“I turned down HUNGER GAMES twice. I didn’t have any idea it would be that big, but I didn’t think it was a good part. I was wrong. It was a terrific part, and it was a terrific thing, but thank God [director] Gary Ross called me. And [executive] Alli Shearmur, too. I turned [the HAN SOLO movie] down twice, too, and the same person, Alli, wouldn’t take no for an answer.

Definitel [STAR WARS] has more secrecy than anything ever. You get an e-reader; you don’t get a script. They give it to you, and you give it back after you read it. But I was like, ‘I’ve got to be with my family, I got to go home.’ I’d been home in Maui one week since November. But I met with [directors Phil Lord and Christopher Miller] one night, and we hung out and we went over to Matthew Freud’s and played ping-pong and just had a great time. They were really good guys. I’ve been enjoying it [since then], especially because we just went to [shoot at] the Dolomites in Italy. [Costar] Thandie Newton said, ‘It’s like being at camp ’cause you got everybody together’, and we had a couple of epic parties.

Alli gave me the word on [Ron Howard replacing the directors]. He’s a wonderful guy. And we did shoot one day with him– we had to shoot because Thandie had to leave. We start again July 12. I think I read some stuff where people were worried about the fate of this movie. I wouldn’t worry. The Force is still very much with it.”

Han Solo is scheduled to hit theaters on May 25, 2018.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

