Skip to content

Matt Reeves Teases New Beginning For BATMAN Film

July 13, 2017

MattReeves2

While War for the Planet of the Apes hits theaters tomorrow, director Matt Reeves is already dropping hints on what to expect for his next project, Warner Bros. Pictures and DC Entertainment’s next BATMAN film. At one time believed to be called The Batman, Reeves spoke with MTV’s Happy Sad Confused podcast that he won’t be using Ben Affleck and Geoff Johns’ script.

“It’s a new story. We’re starting again.”

On the podcast, Reeves spoke about the meeting with the studio that led him to taking the job. In a conversation with Uproxx, Reeves elaborated on his decision to taking the project, explaining his personal philosophy on it.

“I can fail for every single reason because of myself. I don’t want to fail because of something that I don’t believe in in the first place– because I’m not going to know how to do it. I can respect that somebody else might know exactly how to do it. Like there are plenty of things that I’m not the right director for and I love to go see those movies. I love to see what people can do. But I can only do what I can do, and so I have to work from that perspective for self-preservation. It’s not out of any kind of like, ‘My way or the highway!’ It’s because that’s the way I have to do it for me to feel confident in my choices.”

Reeves confirms that casting for the film is not even close. A new script might suggest that maybe it might not even feature Joe Manganiello as Deathstroke as originally planned. It also remains to be seen whether or not Affleck will end up reprising his role as Batman after the upcoming Justice League.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

