Skip to content

Director Sam Taylor-Johnson Regrets Making ‘FIFTY SHADES OF GREY’

June 17, 2017

sam taylor johnson fifty shades

Director Sam Taylor-Johnson has spoken with The Sunday Times and has revealed that after directing E.L James’s Fifty Shades of Grey adaption, she regrets making it.

“With the benefit of hindsight would I go through it again? Of course I wouldn’t. I’d be mad [to do it again]. It was a struggler and there were lots of onset tête-à-têtes, with me trying to bat it into the [right] place. I like everyone– and I get really confused when they don’t like me. I was so confused by E.L. James. I don’t understand when I can’t navigate a person, when there’s no synergy.”

In an interview with THRTaylor-Johnson elaborated on saying that her vision and James were different.

“Her vision versus mine, and they were polar opposite. Every scene was fought over. It was tough. It was like wading uphill through sticky tar. Her thing was, ‘This is what the fans expect.’ I’d be like, ‘Well, let’s try and hit those marks but create a new universe at the same time.”

Dakota Johnson and Jamie Dornan starred in the film which made more than $571 million worldwide, but it was negative reviews. James Foley directed the sequel Fifty Shades Darker and the last one, Fifty Shades Freed.

 

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

