Skip to content

Colin Trevorrow Talks Ian Malcolm’s Return to ‘JURASSIC WORLD’ Sequel

June 17, 2017

colin trevorrow

Producer and Screenwriter Colin Trevorrow recently spoke to the Happy Sad Confused podcast and revealed that Jeff Goldblum’s Dr. Ian Malcolm (who appears to be filming his part now according to producer Frank Marshall’s tweet) dialogue in the film went back to the original source: Michael Crichton’s 1990 novel with some input from the actor himself.

“You know, I did rely on [Michael] Crichton for a lot. I used a lot of Crichton dialogue. Maybe one of my highlights of this whole process is Goldblum. Jeff Goldblum called me– and I’m not going to do an impression– but he was like, ‘Look, I’ve added a couple of things, and I thought I’d perform it for you.’ (laughs) Oh, great, okay. So, we sat on the phone for an hour as he ran these lines, and I talked about it. And, I mean, that’s– it was almost better than being there on set. It was great.”

Trevorrow also spoke about the sequel film and how it will differ from his 2015 film.

“It’s just deeper, more character-based, and it definitely leans into suspense, especially in the second half… It does have the big action in the middle. There’s a sequence in the middle that I’ve been watching– I mean, I watch dailies every day– but I’ve started to see stuff come together, and it’s just insane.

I apologize to those who thought they were never gonna need to see another JURASSIC WORLD movie because I think J.A Bayona is gonna prove [them] wrong.”

Jurassic World 2 features the return of Chris Pratt and Bryce Dallas Howard. They’re joined alongside by Toby Jones, Daniella Pineda, Justice Smith, Rafe Spall, Ted Levine, James Cromwell, Geraldine Chaplin, and Goldblum reprising his role as Dr. Ian Malcolm.

Jurassic World 2 hits theaters on June 22, 2018.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

