Skip to content

Neill Blomkamp Plans ‘DISTRICT 9’ Follow Up

June 5, 2017

1251623 - Chappie

Writer-director Neill Blomkamp recently spoke with The Verge about his new experimental sci-fi shorts studio Oats Studios, but although that might be part of the promo aspect, he also spoke that he is planning a District 9 follow-up.

“With DISTRICT 9, I plan on making another film in that world. To go back and work with WETA, and make the film would be cool, but anything that pre-exists like that may not be the best fit for whatever we’re trying here.”

District 9 was released in August of 2009 and stars Sharlto Copley. Made for $30 million and grossed $210.8 million worldwide.

What about Alien 5 and his concept?

“I think it’s totally dead, yes. That would be an accurate assumption at this point. It’s sad. I spent a long time working on that, and I feel. like it was really pretty awesome. But politically, the way it’s gone now, and the way that it all is– it’s just not going to live.”

He also went on to talk about studio politics.

“Ridley [Scott] was one of my idols growing up. He’s so talented and he’s made this film that really set me off in a direction. I want to just be as respectful and not go stamping around in this world that he created. I think that if the circumstances were different, and I didn’t feel like I was getting too close to something that he obviously feels a massive personal connection to, that things that may have played out differently. But I did want to be as respectful as possible.”

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

