Skip to content

Tom Holland Talks ‘UNCHARTED’ Film

May 31, 2017

hollandz

Last week, it was revealed that Spider-Man: Homecoming star Tom Holland would play Nathan Drake in the long in-development UNCHARTED film, starting early in the life of the thief and taking inspiration from the third game’s prequel. Now, recently, while promoting Spider-Man, Holland spoke to Yahoo! about how he will become involved in the film.

“It’s an exciting one. I didn’t know much about it. It sort of just came, it was a conversation I had with [studio head] Tom Rothman about the potential of different movies that I’d like to work with with Sony and I just had the idea that maybe a young Nathan Drake would be something that audiences would be very interested in. I met Shawn [Levy, director] at the MTV Awards and we had a brief chat about the potential of doing an origin story rather than copying what the games have done and it seems like people have been really excited about it, I know I am. I’m excited to have some further conversations about it.”

He was also asked on who he would like to see play the role of Sully, father figure and mentor to Drake in the series.

“I think Jake Gyllenhaal could be really cool, but I actually went to the JURASSIC WORLD film set the other day to visit my friend who is directing it and Chris Pratt is on that film, who I have become very good friends with over the last few months, and I think he would be a great Sully. I think it could be cool, because if it was an older (Nathan Drake) movie I would say that Chris should play Nathan, but I think he would a good Sully and I love working with Chris.”

Hailing from Naughty Dog and Sony Interaction, which began in 2007 with Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune. There has been three sequels, with the latest being Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End released on May 2016. A new stand-alone expansion Uncharted: The Lost Legacy was recently announced and will be released this year.

Despite having previous drafts of Mark Boal, David O. Russell, Thomas Dean Donnelly and Joshua Oppenheimer, David Guggenheim and Joe Carnahan, the new version will have a new write set to rework the new premise. Shawn Levy is set to direct the adaption.

Based on the action-adventure video game Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune from Naughty Dog and Sony Interactive, the story follows a descendant of explorer Sir Francis Drake, a treasure hunter named Nate Drake who believes he has learned the whereabouts of El Dorado, the fabled South American golden city, from a cursed golden statue. The search becomes competitive when a rival hunter joins the fray, then is escalated when creatures– actually mutated descendants of Spaniards and Nazis– begin attacking those hoping to learn the treasure’s true secrets.

Uncharted the film, is an Arad/Atla Entertainment Production, with Charles Roven, Avi Arad, Alex Gartner and Ari Arad producing.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

