Skip to content

Patty Jenkins Reveals Reason Why She Didn’t Directed ‘THOR: THE DARK WORLD’

May 27, 2017

Patty Jenkins

All of us know that Marvel is always ahead of the DC Films and that no matter what the latter do, they will never catch up. However, an interesting fact is that both studios have upcoming projects directed by women– Anna Boden and Ryan Fleck will direct Captain Marvel for 2019 and Patty Jenkins is the one behind DC’s highly anticipated Wonder Woman. However, that might’ve never happened as Jenkins could’ve directed Marvel’s Thor: The Dark World. She joined the project, but exited due to “creative differences” and Alan Taylor replaced her.

Just recently, Jenkins spoke with Uproxx and shared a little more into details about Thor 2. 

“I don’t think I could have made a good movie out of THOR 2 because I wasn’t the right director. And I don’t think I would have been in the running for WONDER WOMAN as a result. And that’s one of the reasons why I’m glad I didn’t do it. Because I could have made a great THOR if I could have done the story that I was wanting to do. But I don’t think I was the right person to make a great THOR out of the story they wanted to do.”

She added:

“I was heartbroken. I was like, ‘oh, what a bummer.’ But in retrospect it all makes sense.”

One thing for sure I’m glad that Jenkins managed to avoid that sequel which wasn’t good and went on to bring Wonder Woman to the big screen.

Wonder Woman hits theaters on June 2.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

