Skip to content

Hans Zimmer Reveals He Didn’t Feel the Pain with Ben Affleck’s Batman

March 17, 2017

Hans Zimmer

Last spring, Hans Zimmer declared that he was officially “retiring from the superhero business” after Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice. While he’s cool down on that aspect, he still has doors opened for superheroes, but it’s going to have to be something outstanding for him to get back to that world.

Zimmer revealed on an interview with Inverse why he initially decided to retire from the superhero world, and how his new role going forward when those opportunities present themselves.

“I keep thinking about new styles of music and new ways of using technology, new ways of figuring out how to make everything that we do an experience for other people. And I just couldn’t do it anymore with the superhero movies, it’s as simple as that. If you take the three Chris Nolan Batman’s, that’s three movies to you, but to [me] and Chris, it was twelve years of our lives. So sometimes you just have to say, ‘I don’t know where I’m heading, but I’m going to jump off this cliff’. As soon as I said [no more superhero movies], there were a lot of phone calls coming my way going, ‘Are you crazy?’ But I’ve never written music for money; money isn’t inspiring. And I didn’t want to get into it where it became a job.

Ron Howard actually said something very smart to me. He said, ‘Don’t say you will never do a superhero movie again, wait for somebody to turn up with an amazing script for a superhero movie.’ And I suppose that’s what I’m saying: Can I please have the amazing script?”

high res batman v superman 5

While Zimmer and Junkie XL split their duties to making the music, Zimmer has revealed something from his heart. Christian Bale will always be his Batman.

“It just did my brain in to have written Christian Bale as Batman, and suddenly it’s Ben Affleck. And it felt like I was betraying everything Christian had done. So there’s a certain amount of loyalty attacked to those movies, as well.

I spent months trying to come up with something for Ben. The Batman that I know and the one I learned is the one that Christian did, and Ben plays it different. And I can’t quite shake that off. For me, the Christian Bale character was always completely unresolved. It was always about that moment at the beginning of the first movie, where he sees his parents getting killed. It was basically arrested development. The Ben character is more middle-aged, he seems to be grumpy as hell but I didn’t feel the pain that I felt in Christian’s performance. And it was that pain that made me interested.”

 

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

